The country has 13 major sea ports and about 200 non-major sea ports and intermediate ports. All the sea ports are located in the following states – Maharashtra, Gujarat, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Daman and Diu, Andhra Pradesh, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Kerala, Karnataka, West Bengal, Lakshadweep, Puducherry and Goa. Kandla Port is the largest port of India by volume of cargo handled. Madras Port is the one of the oldest port of India and the second largest port in the country. Jawaharlal Nehru Port is the largest container port in India.

The nine coastal Indian states Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha and West Bengal are home to all major and minor ports of India. The long coastline of India forms one of the biggest piece of land into a body of water,These twelve major Indian Ports are handle a large volume of cargo traffic and container traffic.

There are total 13 major sea ports of India,out of 12 are government and one, Ennore port of Chennai is the corporate one. Ennore Port is one of the Coromandel Coast of Tamil Nadu state along with Kakinada Port and private Krishnapatnam Port and Mundra Port. Other 12 major ports of India are listed as follows.

Marine transport in India is controlled and administered by the state and the central governments. While the shipping ministry manages the major ports, the intermediate and the minor ports are administered by the State government in which the port is located.

India’s 95% of trading is done through maritime transport.

The major ports in India are located in:

  1. Maharashtra -53
  2. Gujarat -40
  3. Tamil Nadu – 15
  4. Karnataka – 10

S.No Name of the Port Coast State
1 Kandla Western Coast Gujarat
2 Paradip Eastern Coast Odisha
3 JNPT Western Coast Maharashtra
4 Mumbai Western Coast Maharashtra
5 Visakhapatnam Eastern Coast Andhra Pradesh
6 Chennai Eastern Coast Tamil Nadu
7 Kolkata Eastern Coast West Bengal
8 Mangalore Western Coast Karnataka
9 Tuticorin Eastern Coast Tamil Nadu
10 Mormugao Western Coast Goa
11 Kochi Western Coast Kerala
12 Krishnapatnam Port Eastern Coast Andhra Pradesh
13 Ennore Eastern Coast Tamil Nadu