Attorney Generals of India

Attorney Generals of India

The Attorney General of India is the Indian government’s chief legal advisor, and its primary lawyer in the Supreme Court of India. He can be said as the lawyer from government’s side. He is appointed by the President of India under Article 76(1) of the Constitution and holds office during the pleasure of the President. He must be a person qualified to be appointed as a Judge of the Supreme Court, also must have been a judge of some high court for five years or an advocate of some high court for ten years or an eminent jurist, in the opinion of the President and must be a citizen of India.

Functions, powers and duties. The Attorney General is legal adviser to the Government and attends Government meetings.Attorney General defends the constitutionality of Bills referred to the Supreme Court under Article 26 of the Constitution.Soli Jehangir Sorabjee was born in 1930 in Bombay. He commenced his legal practice in 1953 in Bombay High Court.Attorney general is appointed by President, Advocate general is appointed by the Governor of the state (article 165). The advocate general holds the office during the pleasure of the Governor and his remuneration is decided by Governor of the state in question.

The CAG is ranked 9th and enjoys the same status as a judge of Supreme Court of India in Indian order of precedence. The current CAG of India is Rajiv Mehrishi, who assumed office on 25 September 2017. He is the 13th CAG of India.
CAG is appointed by the President by warrant under his hand and seal and provided with tenure of 6 years or 65 years of age, whichever is earlier. CAG can be removed by the President only in accordance with the procedure mentioned in the Constitution that is the manner same as removal of a Supreme Court Judge
The Advocate General is the highest law officer in the state. He is responsible to assist the state government in all its legal matters. He defends and protects the interest of the state government. The office of the Advocate General in state corresponds to the office of Attorney General of India.

List of attorneys general for India

The attorneys general for India since independence are listed below:[13]

Attorney General Term Incumbent Prime Minister
M. C. Setalvad 28 January 1950 – 1 March 1963 Jawaharlal Nehru
C. K. Daphtary 2 March 1963 – 30 October 1968 Jawaharlal NehruLal Bahadur Shastri
Niren De 1 November 1968 – 31 March 1977 Indira Gandhi
S. V. Gupte 1 April 1977 – 8 August 1979 Morarji Desai
L. N. Sinha 9 August 1979 – 8 August 1983 Indira Gandhi
K. Parasaran 9 August 1983 – 8 December 1989 Indira GandhiRajiv Gandhi
Soli Sorabjee 9 December 1989 – 2 December 1990 V. P. SinghChandra Shekhar
G. Ramaswamy 3 December 1990 – 23 November 1992 Chandra ShekharP. V. Narasimha Rao
Milon K. Banerji 21 November 1992 – 8 July 1996 P. V. Narasimha Rao
Ashok Desai 9 July 1996 – 6 April 1998 H. D. DevegowdaInder Kumar Gujral
Soli Sorabjee 7 April 1998 – 4 June 2004 Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Milon K. Banerji 5 June 2004 – 7 June 2009 Manmohan Singh
Goolam Essaji Vahanvati 8 June 2009 – 11 June 2014 Manmohan Singh
Mukul Rohatgi 19 June 2014 – 18 June 2017[14] Narendra Modi
K. K. Venugopal 1 July 2017 – (incumbent) Narendra Modi