G20 Summits

G20 Summits

The G-20 is the G-7 plus developing nations such as Brazil, China, India, and Russia. The G-20’s members represent two-thirds of the world’s people and 85 percent of its economy. Since 2007, the media has covered each G-20 summit. The Group of Twenty is comprised of 19 countries plus the European Union.

The List of Member countries are:

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.

What is the G20?

The Group of Twenty (G20) is a global forum comprised of twenty of the world’s largest economies, focused on addressing global economic challenges. IArgentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States—and the European Union.

Argentina currently holds the annually rotating  which is why it is hosting this year’s Leaders’ Summit. The current G20 president works in a “troika” with the previous and the following presidencies, which in this case are Germany and Japan, respectively. The presidency is responsible for hosting G20 meetings throughout the year. It can also invite non-member countries to attend meetings at its own discretion; this year, Argentina elected to  the Netherlands.

Countries that chair key regional groups are also invited to G20 summits, such as Rwanda, Singapore, Senegal, and Jamaica this year. Spain also holds a permanent invitation to all G20 meetings. Throughout the year, government ministers, foreign ministry officials, central bank governors, and world leaders hold meetings to address and discuss global economic issues in detail. All of these meetings and negotiations culminate at the end of the year in a Leaders’ Summit.

G20 Meetings & their Details