Indian State and their Capitals

States and Capitals of India 2020: 28 States and 8 UTs in India

States and Capitals 2021: 28 States and 8 Union Territories in India

India is seventh largest country in the world and also the second populous. It lies in southern Asia. It is officially known as the Republic of India. It is governed by a parliamentary form of government. It gets very difficult to manage the large country from one place. So Indian Constitution give right to the central government to make states as it feel suitable. This article talks about the list of States and Capitals of India with the founded year.

List States and Capitals of India

Many people don’t no about the total number of States / union territories in India and their capitals. In this article, we are giving you the latest update on States and Capitals of India. There are a total of 28 states and 8 union territories in India at present. Each state of India has an administrative, legislative and judicial capital some state all three functions are conducted in one capital. Every state is ruled by a Chief Minister. Here we have covered the list of the Indian States, Union Territories, and their capitals.

States and Capitals

As a responsible citizens we should know about the States and capitals of India. The states and the capitals are very commonly asked as the General Awareness Questions in a number of competitive exams held all over the country. The 28 Indian States and their capitals are as follows.

States and Capitals of India

S.No States Name Capital Founded Date
1 Andhra Pradesh Amaravati 1 Nov, 1956
2 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar 20 Feb, 1987
3 Assam Dispur 26 Jan, 1950
4 Bihar Patna 26 Jan, 1950
5 Chhattisgarh Raipur 1 Nov, 2000
6 Goa Panaji 30 May, 1987
7 Gujarat Gandhinagar 1 May, 1960
8 Haryana Chandigarh 1 Nov, 1966
9 Himachal Pradesh Shimla 25 Jan, 1971
10 Jharkhand Ranchi 15 Nov, 2000
11 Karnataka Bengaluru 1 Nov, 1956
12 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram 1 Nov, 1956
13 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal 1 Nov, 1956
14 Maharashtra Mumbai 1 May, 1960
15 Manipur Imphal 21 Jan, 1972
16 Meghalaya Shillong 21 Jan, 1972
17 Mizoram Aizawl 20 Feb, 1987
18 Nagaland Kohima 1 Dec, 1963
19 Odisha Bhubaneswar 26 Jan, 1950
20 Punjab Chandigarh 1 Nov, 1956
21 Rajasthan Jaipur 1 Nov, 1956
22 Sikkim Gangtok 16 May, 1975
23 Tamil Nadu Chennai 26 Jan, 1950
24 Telangana Hyderabad 2 Jun, 2014
25 Tripura Agartala 21 Jan, 1972
26 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow 26 Jan, 1950
27 Uttarakhand Dehradun (Winter)
Gairsain (Summer)
9 Nov, 2000
28 West Bengal Kolkata 1 Nov, 1956

Indian States: Union Territories and Capitals

At Present India now has 28 States and 8 Union Territories. The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh. The newly formed union territories have been formed under a reorganization act passed by the Parliament on 5-6 August 2020. At present India has 8 Union Territories.

Union Territories Names Capital Founded on
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair 1 Nov, 1956
Chandigarh Chandigarh 1 Nov, 1966
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu Daman 26 Jan, 2020
Delhi New Delhi 9 May, 1905
Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
31 Oct 2019
Lakshadweep Kavaratti 1 Nov, 1956
Puducherry Pondicherry 1 Nov, 1954
Ladakh Leh 31 Oct 2019

States and Capitals of India Map

You can check the latest political map of India which provides the total number of states + union territories in India and their capitals at present.


States and Capitals: Important Points of States and UT

After getting the list of Indian States & Union Territories with its capitals, let us first understand how to segregate the a state from a union territory. Out of the eight union territories in India, three union territories have their own legislatures these are Delhi, Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry) and Jammu and Kashmir. Each union territory and state has a capital of its own.

State Union Territories
 The state has its own administrative units with their own elected government. Union Territories are constituent units which are controlled and administered by the Central Government.
Executive Head is the Governor Executive Head is the President
The relationship with the Centre is Federal. Unitary with the Centre. i.e. all the powers rests in the hands of Union.
Administered by the Chief Minister and elected by the people. Administered by the Administrator which is appointed by the President. ( except Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu & Kashmir)
Chief Minister is the real head. Lieutenant is the real head.