Legendary Actor Rajnikanth conferred upon prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Award; Manoj Bajpayee, Kangana Ranaut are best actors at National Film Awards ceremony

  • The 67th National Film Awards were presented by Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu at a special function in New Delhi today. Veteran actor Super Star Rajnikanth was honoured with the prestigious Dada Saheb Phalke Award for his outstanding contribution to the world of Indian cinema.
  • Malayalam movie ‘Marakkar Arabikkadilinte Simham’ directed by Priyadarshan was awarded the Best Feature Film Award. Sanjay Puran Singh Chauhan was given best Direction Award for Hindi film ‘Bahattar Hoorain’.
  • Actor Manoj Bajpayee was awarded best Actor award for Hindi movie ‘Bhonsle’ and Dhanush got the award for Tamil Movie ‘Asuran’. Kangana Ranaut received Best Actress award for her movies ‘Manikarnika -The Queen of Jhansi’ and ‘Panga’.
  • Vijaya Sethupati was awarded the best-supporting actor award for Tamil film ‘Super Deluxe’ and Pallavi Joshi got best-supporting actress award for Hindi film ‘The Tashkent Files’.
  • B. Praak got the Best Male playback Singer award for song “Teri Mitti” in Hindi Film ‘Kesari’. Savani Ravindra was awarded Best Female playback Singer award for song “Rann Petala” in Marathi Movie ‘Bardo’. D. Imman received best Music Direction Award for his songs in Tamil Film ‘Vishwasam’.
  • Prabuddha Banerjee got the award for background music in Bengali movie ‘Jeyesthaputro’. Prabha Varma got the Best Lyrics award for Malayalam movie ‘Kolaambi’. Raju Sundaram received the Best Choreography award for Telugu Movie ‘Maharshi’.
  • Sikkim got the award for the most film-friendly state. Best Non-Feature Film award was given to Hemant Gaba’s ‘An Engineered Dream’. The award for the best film critic was given to Sohini Chattopadhyay. In Non-Feature Film category, Best Animation Film was awarded to ‘Radha’. Best Art and Culture film award was given to Odia Non-Feature film ‘Shrikhetra ru Sahijata’.
  • The Award for the best Narration for Non-Feature Films was given to ‘Wild Karnataka’ (English) by Sir David Attenborough.
  • The award for the Best Music Direction in Non-Feature Films was given to ‘Kranti Darshi Guruji- Ahead Of Times’ (Hindi) by Bishakhjyoti. The award for best book on cinema was given to ‘A Gandhian Affair: India’s Curious Portrayal of Love in Cinema’ written by Sanjay Suri.
  • Speaking onthe occasion, Vice President Naidu said he is happy to see films from different regions winning the awards. He said, the films deal with pertinent issues of our times including climate change.
  • Source : newsonair.gov.in


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here