List of Nuclear Power Stations in India

  • Nuclear power is the fifth-largest source of electricity in India after coal, gas, hydroelectricity and wind power. As of 2016, India has 22 nuclear reactors in operation in 7 nuclear power plants, having a total installed capacity of 6,780 MW .
  • Tarapur Atomic Power Plant-1 (TAPS-1) was the first Nuclear power plant in India. This plant is situated in Boisar, Maharastra since Oct-1969. At present, India has 22 operating reactors in 7 nuclear power plants with an installed capacity of 6780 MWe.
  • India’s and Asia’s first nuclear reactor was the Apsara research reactor at Mumbai. The domestic uranium reserve in India is small and the country is dependent on uranium imports from other countries to provide fuel to its nuclear power industry. Since the 1990s, Russia has been a major supplier of nuclear fuel to India. Read this full article to know the list of Nuclear Power Plants in India.

List of Nuclear Power Plants in India

1. Tarapur

Operator: Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL)

Location: Maharashtra

Type: Boiling water reactor (BWR) & Pressurized heavy water reactor (PHWR)

2. Rawatbhata

Operator: Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL)

Location: Rajasthan

Type: Pressurized heavy water reactor (PHWR)

3. Kudankulam

Operator: Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL)

Location: Tamil Nadu

Type: Water-Water Energetic Reactor (VVER)-1000

Total capacity (MW): 2,000

4. Kaiga

Operator: Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL)

Location: Karnataka

Type: Pressurized heavy water reactor (PHWR)

Total capacity (MW): 880

Power station Operator State Type Total capacity (MW)
Tarapur NPCIL Maharashtra BWR
Rawatbhata NPCIL Rajasthan PHWR 1180
Kudankulam NPCIL Tamil Nadu VVER-1000 2000
Kaiga NPCIL Karnataka PHWR 880
Kakrapar NPCIL Gujarat PHWR 440
Kalpakkam NPCIL Tamil Nadu PHWR 440
Narora NPCIL Uttar Pradesh PHWR 440
Total 6780